The Glorious Gloria Tribute!

13 Nov

Gloria Photo 

Recently I had the incredible opportunity to create dolls in honor of a much loved and missed woman, Gloria.  The dolls will be given to the many special people in Gloria’s life.

Each doll was dressed in pieces from Gloria’s wardobe, specifically her signature leopard print design and beloved black fleece wrap coat.

All the jewelry worn by the dolls came from Gloria’s collection.  Each piece was picked specifically by Gloria’s daughter to go to a certain friend or family member for sentimental reasons.   Tucked inside each doll’s purse was a special personal message expressing Gloria’s love for that person.

The dolls will be presented at a special dinner honoring Gloria’s life. 

It was such an honor for me to be a part of this beautiful tribute to this very special woman. 

And here the dolls are being presented to their new owners!

8 Responses to “The Glorious Gloria Tribute!”

  1. Rebecca November 14, 2009 at 4:14 am #

    So Fabulous Cathy! These dolls are wonderful and such an amazing tribute to a beautiful lady!

  2. Dan November 14, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    Great story. You are a terrific artist!

  3. M & D Schmidt November 15, 2009 at 2:00 am #

    Lovely – just lovely. Cathy, you put so much of yourself into making Gloria’s daughter’s vision a reality. So proud of you and your creative talent. The dolls reflect your compassion and understanding in making this a loving and beautiful tribute.

  4. LIsa December 30, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    Cathy, my mom is Marsha G. and I know how much the Gloria doll means to her as well as the dolls you have made for all of us for our grandmother, Rose. Thank you for sharing your creativity and wonderful designs so that people who have passed can stay with us! Happy New Year!

    • Cathy January 12, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

      Lisa, thank you so much! Your words mean more than I can say. I feel blessed that your mother and I found each other and that my dolls are touching people in a way that I never dreamed they would!

  5. Marsha January 5, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    Cathy, as you know, I was one of the lucky ones to receive this doll. I still cannot believe how the doll looks like my dear friend. What a gift her daughter gave to me and the others. Gloria will remain in our hearts forever.
    Here’s to Y-Me and the line about you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meeting Marsha! « WhimsyGab - August 29, 2010

    […] dolls to honor her mother, just as I had done for Marsha’s mother.  I did, and the Glorious Gloria story […]

  2. I’m a Vlogger… I think… « WhimsyGab - December 29, 2010

    […] November 13, 2009 The Glorious Gloria Tribute […]

Leave a Reply

