Update – August 2, 2010

24 Aug

August 2, 2010 (email sent by me)

Hi!
I wanted to write a quick note to let you know my progress so far.  The last two drains came out and other than a minor infection (which is under control) everything is healing very well.  The next big milestone will be next Tuesday (August 10) when I visit my oncologist and we decide on a plan for the next phase.

As in every recovery, there are good days and bad days, highs and lows.  I’ve experienced them all—the absolute lowest of lows but thank goodness, the highest of highs.  I’m attaching a picture of one of the highs. We were able to attend the Relay for Life on Saturday night. As many of you know, the Relay has been very important to me for 12 years.  I have the most incredible memories of the Relay over the years and this year was no exception.  Bob’s group at work walked in honor of me, wearing pink ribbons with my name, pinned to their shirts.  You can only imagine my reaction when I walked up to a table of pink ribbon pins, thinking I wanted to buy one, and seeing my name on all of them!  It touched me so much that I burst into tears–but they were happy and grateful tears!  Thank you so much Corporate Relations and thank you Sue for hand making the ribbons.  I will cherish that little ribbon forever!

This week I’ll continue to rest and move forward. Please know that every prayer, phone call, message, card, gift, playdate, flower, and meal means more to me than I can say.  I haven’t been up to writing or calling, which bothers me so much, but I’m so incredibly grateful for everything.  I truly am.

Thank you for being in our lives!

Love, Cathy

Leave a Reply

