Update: Next Steps – August 12, 2010

24 Aug

August 12, 2010 (email sent by me)

Hi everyone,

Well, it’s been a little over 3 weeks since my surgery and things are continuing to progress well.  My surgeon said I was out of the woods as far as major healing goes and I’m feeling really good.
 
But… we met with my oncologist on Tuesday and even though he truly believes that I’m healed, his recommendation is that I go through chemo treatments. I knew there would be some type of additional treatment, but I was hoping it would be a new pill that wouldn’t be so harsh.  But the reality is that by going through chemo, I know that I will have done everything I could to make sure this cancer is gone.  I’ll probably start late next week or early the following week.  There will be four chemo treatments, given through an IV, every 3 weeks.  Fun.
 
So, not the best news, but certainly not the worst.  It’s only 9 weeks and I have so very much to be thankful for. This will all be behind me soon.
 
As always, thank you for all your good wishes and continuous support!
 
Love, Cathy

Leave a Reply

