Meeting Marsha!

29 Aug

August 29, 2010

Wednesday (8/25/10) was such a wonderful day.  I finally got to meet, in person, a very special lady who became my friend through the dolls I make.  We first talked years ago — in 2007 — when I was included in an article called Readers Share Their Creativity.  The editors of Lifeline (the quarterly newsletter of the Breast Cancer Network of Strength) asked readers to send in artwork that was inspired by a breast cancer experience.  I sent in a picture and short description of my Pink Ribbon Beauty dolls.  The dolls caught the attention of a woman in Connecticut–Marsha.  With only “Cathy Liginski, Grayslake” to go by, she tracked me down and gave me a call.  From the very first phone conversation we had a connection. 

I made quite a few custom dolls for Marsha using the fur coat that belonged to her mother.  She would send me pieces of the coat, along with jewelry that belonged to her mother, and I made dolls that she gave to family and friends in memory of their beloved Rose (or Bubby!).  I was terrified to cut into that real fur coat but thankfully the dolls turned out beautifully.

Well, it just so happened that Marsha came into town for a very special occasion and made time to see me.  On Wednesday she and her lovely friend June drove over an hour out to Grayslake for a visit. 

Here we are!

And all three of us… Marsha, Cathy, and June.

It was a lovely day and one that I will never forget.

When Marsha originally contacted me about a doll, her thought was to make one for her friend who was battling cancer–Gloria.  Well, it turned out that Gloria wasn’t really a doll person (!) so we decided against making one.  Sadly, Gloria lost her battle with cancer but through Marsha, Gloria’s daughter contacted me to make dolls to honor her mother, just as I had done for Marsha’s mother.  I did, and the Glorious Gloria story began.

Gloria did get a doll after all–whether she liked it or not.  But I’m thinking this is one doll she just may have liked!

Thank you Marsha and June for a glorious day and may this be the first of many visits in the future!

2 Responses to “Meeting Marsha!”

  1. Lisa August 29, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    It was just as special for mom to meet a real life Hero of hers this past week, Cathy. It was definitely a highlight for her. She treasures your special friendship.

    Thinking good thoughts and of happy things as you continue your journey.

    Lisa Cutler
    (Marsha’s daughter)

  2. Mom Schmidt September 2, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Wonderful pictures – You and Marsha – A long distance friendship becomes the warm reality of being together – especially at this time in your life when you must yet again continue the fight against cancer. Keep up your Blog. Never know when your story/information will maybe help another person on this same journey. XO

Leave a Reply

