We Have a Plan

1 Sep

September 1, 2010

Well, we finally have a plan.  It took a long time to come to a decision as to what type of treatment to take but I won’t bore you with all those details.  If all goes as planned, I’ll be starting chemotherapy on Friday, September 10.  So, I have one more week of freedom!

Along with the standard chemo treatments, we’re adding a drug called Herceptin.  Unfortunately, adding this drug will increase the chemo treatments from 4 to 6.  I’ll go in for chemo every 3 weeks and Herceptin every week.  It’s going to be a long haul but once it’s over, I’ll feel good knowing that I did everything in my power to ensure that this cancer is gone for good.  And I know in my heart that it will be.   

So, that’s the scoop.  It took a long time to get to this point but we’re ready to continue this fight.

Thank you for keeping us in your thoughts and prayers.  It means so very much.

4 Responses to “We Have a Plan”

  1. Rebecca September 2, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Thank you so much for the update and keeping us posted. Wishing you all the best and keeping you in my thoughts each day. Sending BIG Hugs ~ Rebecca

  2. Connie Cook September 4, 2010 at 2:30 am #

    Yes, thank you so much for keeping us updated. When things start happening to the hair from chemo just give me a call or send me a message and I will come over to your house or you can come over to mine(which ever you are more comfortable with)and I will help you out with that. Enjoy this holiday weekend with your family:) XOXO Connie

  3. cousin mary September 4, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    Cathy, I am so happy you have a blog.I have been thinking and praying for you everyday.
    I remember a few years back I was addicted to Rosie O’Donnell’s blog. Yours is much more inspiring and your family pictures are certainly more beautiful.I am so proud to be related to you.
    Keep up that wonderful strength!

  4. cousin mary September 4, 2010 at 3:29 am #

    I am so happy you have a blog. I remember a few years back I was addicted to Rosie O’Donnell’s blog. Yours is much more inspiring and your family pictures are certainly more beautiful. I am so proud to be related to you. Keep up that wonderful strength!

Leave a Reply

