All Done… (First Chemo Part 3)

11 Sep

September 10, 2010 (9:00 pm)

All done!  My first chemo treatment is completed and it wasn’t bad at all.  The best entertainment of the afternoon was listening to an older woman a few chairs down from me:

Her nurse was Jane.

“Jane, I’m really thirsty.  Can you bring me water?”
“Jane, when are you going to start my new bag?”
“Jane, I forgot my book, can you bring me a magazine?”
Jane brings her several magazines to choose from but she has read them all.
“Jane, do you have any cookies you can bring me?”
“Jane, is there any coffee?”
(That’s when I got my craving for coffee but I surely wasn’t going to ask Jane for a cup.)

And Jane brought her everything she asked for with a smile.  Now if that was me, I would have been an eye-rolling, huffing and puffing, raving mad woman.  Another good reason I never went into nursing.

I finished up at about 5:30 and couldn’t believe how good I felt.  So, what better thing to do than to join Bobby and friends at the PCCS Family Fun Night.  Never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d be there tonight.

(When we arrived and I bent down to kiss Bobby hello, he tugged at my hair.  I thought he wanted to see if my hair would fall out but he wanted to see if I had my wig on!)

My Girls

Do you see the resemblance?

Bobby and “his guys”

A friendly boxing match between friends…

but ending in smiles…

I couldn’t believe what a wonderful day this ended up to be!

4 Responses to “All Done… (First Chemo Part 3)”

  1. Rebecca September 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    OMG you had me laughing out loud! I feel sorry for Jane but so happy you were feeling so good.
    Love the pictures ~ Enjoy the rest of the weekend! Rebecca

  2. Kathleen September 13, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    You’re off to a great start Cathy! You’re making us Schmidt/Patek girls proud!

  3. Diane September 13, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Thank you for all the updates…although you make me cry everytime. You’re an inspiration!

    Love you,
    Diane

  4. Noreen September 14, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Can you get me Jane’s #, I could use her around here! It must run in the family Cathy, the medical field is a much better place without me too! You are in our thoughts and prayers. Love you.

Leave a Reply

