My Red Ryder BB Gun

16 Sep

I love pink ribbon things and have quite a collection of necklaces, bracelets, candles, shoelaces, bears, pins, pillows, stickers, and so on.  Slap a pink ribbon on it and I’m there.

Last year while at a vendor show with a friend, I saw it.  My version of the Official Red Ryder Carbine-Action Two-Hundred-Shot Range Model Air Rifle.  It was the most beautiful pink ribbon bag I’d ever seen.  It wasn’t just any pink ribbon bag… it was a Beijo Pinky Promise pink ribbon bag.  I kept looking at it, touching it, walking by it… but oh no, I couldn’t possibly add that beauty to my collection.

Fast forward to March of this year when my mother and I did a craft show.  I walked in the room to find a display of Beijo bags right next to our display.  And sitting smack dab in the middle of all the bags was none other than THE bag…the Pinky Promise.  For 7 hours my mom and I drooled over these bags but I still couldn’t do it… I couldn’t buy the bag for myself. 

Well, Ralphie’s Christmas Story came true a few months early for me.  Yesterday, I was given the bag.  A gift from my sister and mother.  There it was in all of its splendid glory, the most beautiful pink ribbon bag ever… the Beijo Pinky Promise.  And now it’s mine!  My pink ribbon collection is officially complete.  No other pink ribbon can top it.

My sister questions every day why I have to fight this fight again and says that if she could, she would take it from me.  I know that she would but I would never in a million years give it to her.  (I’ll lend her my bag, but not the cancer).  She’s my best friend and biggest ally in the world and I couldn’t imagine my life without her.

And mom, my mom who I love with all of my heart has to watch me go through this again.  I’m sure it’s unbearable to have to watch a daughter go through this and I wish so much that she didn’t have to.

But I’ll do my best to make them both proud and get through this with courage and strength.  We’ll all get through this together because we have so much to live for and so much to look forward to. 

So, from the bottom of my heart, thank you mom and Carrie for my beautiful Beijo Pinky Promise bag.  I will carry it proudly… and I won’t shoot my eye out.

I love you both so much.

10 Responses to “My Red Ryder BB Gun”

  1. Margaret Kuretich September 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Your story was beautiful Cathy. We all need our families to keep us grounded and walk with us during difficult times. We love you. Margaret

  2. Fawn September 16, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    Hugs to you and Fernie and Carrie.

  3. Carrie September 17, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    Great…. Now it happened to me twice in the same day(and you know what I mean) – could you please give me some warning in the future??? 🙂

    You deserve Pinky and I’m glad she made you smile. We will get through this one step, one day at a time.
    Love, love, love you too.

  4. Sandy September 17, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    Hi Cathy, LOVE the bag, love the story (very creative!) and of course love you!!

  5. XO M September 17, 2010 at 2:48 am #

    First I smiled and then I cried – Thank you for putting all those wonderful words together to let us to know how much you love your Pinky Promise Bag. Now….how about some really delicious Pink CupCakes with loads of Pink Frosting! Coming Up Soon!

  6. Rebecca September 20, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    What a wonderful gift and beautiful story. Merry Christmas ~ 😉
    Hugs ~ Rebecca

  7. Jennifer September 20, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Maybe I shouldn’t be reading your blog while I am at work. I understand the way you feel about your Mom and Carrie. I am the same way with my Mom and sister. You have a great support team and this will just make your bonds stronger.

  8. Dana Kurchina-Tilling September 27, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    I love your story about your bag. I am glad that I got to be a part of it. I will have my pinky promise on my arm too for the month of Oct. And if anyone else might want to show there support with there own Beijo Pinky promise They can get one for themselves and a second one half price for a friend through the end of Oct. Much Love and healing to you.

  9. Noreen September 28, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Aren’t sisters the best? 🙂

  10. Daisy September 28, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Hugs Cathy! Great writing!
    Take care and feel well, your doing a great job!!

Leave a Reply

