It’s October… Pink is in the Air!

1 Oct

October 1, 2010

It’s hard to believe that just one year ago today I wrote this post:

______________________________________

October… Then and Now!

October 1, 2009

It’s October 1… Breast Cancer Awareness Month… Schedule that Mammogram and buy something pink!

Then (1996)

Cathy 1996

Now (2009)

How lucky am I??!!! 

_____________________________________________

Just reading that post gives me chills.  Never in my wildest dreams did I think that one year from that day, I would be reliving 1996 all over again.

So, what will I be doing on this first day of Breast Cancer Awareness month?  I’ll be heading out for my 2nd round of chemo.  How fitting, I suppose.

When I first told my sister about this newest diagnosis I also told her that I was mad at pink ribbons and never wanted to see one again.  (Pretty hard-core coming from the girl who collects anything and everything pink ribbon.)  She said “Cathy, don’t be mad at pink ribbons.  Look what they’ve done for you.”  And she is exactly right.  Pink Ribbon campaigns have given a tremendous amount of attention and money to this cause and I’ve experienced those changes and advancements first-hand.  So much has changed since 1996 due in large part to the money that is raised through these campaigns.  

But one thing that hasn’t changed–and never will change–is the fact that early detection saves lives.  I know that early detection saved my life not once, but twice.  In 1996 I was 37 when a small lump was found during my routine annual exam.  If I hadn’t been diligent about seeing my doctor every year, there’s a chance I would not be here today.  Thankfully my cancer was Stage 2 and I was cured.  And since that day, I’ve never missed a 6-month oncologist visit or a yearly mammogram.  This time my cancer was caught at Stage 1 with a positive prognosis. 

So, do I still feel as lucky as I did last October?  Absolutely I do!  I feel like the luckiest girl in the world.  I have a beautiful family, beautiful friends, a blessed life, and a curable cancer.

Pink is in the air.  Make sure you get your exams, urge those around you to do the same, hug your loved ones tight, celebrate life… and buy a pink ribbon or two!

9 Responses to “It’s October… Pink is in the Air!”

  1. Sandy October 1, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Good luck with your second round of chemo today Cathy! I will be thinking of you. I can see how you could be very negative about things, but am glad that you see how lucky you actually are.(Not that what you are going through now is any picnic!) You survived and have a beautiful family. And let’s talk about what a nicely shaped head you have!! I will buy pink and I’m saving my Dannon yogurt lids. 10 cents for each lid will be donated to The National Breast Cancer Foundation, Inc. wwww.cupsofhope.com

  2. Rebecca October 1, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Sending wishes and hope your way each day I wake. Love both of your pictures ~ you always radiate such joy,
    happiness and confidence. Good luck today!
    Hugs ~ Rebecca

  3. Janet October 1, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    athy you never seize to amaze me….You are an inspiration to many.Hugs, loves and prayers coming your way…Janet

  4. Helen Mackie October 1, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Cathy…you are an amazing woman, and an inspiration to all of us!! Keep it up…please 🙂

  5. Daisy Hoeft October 1, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    Cathy, you sexing CJ you!
    You’ve got a great attitude, see ya soon!

  6. Fawn October 1, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I hope this round of chemo goes well for you. I had a pink ribbon bagel this morning and thought of you! Let me know if you would like me to drop some by. Had my mammogram last week so I’m set for another year. I’m so glad you had yours and caught this early!!!!

    Sending lots of hugs your way…..

  7. Jennifer October 1, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Hope you are feeling ok. Hope to see you soon! Thinking about you today.
    Love,
    Jennifer

  8. Terri Bemowski October 1, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    I think about you all the time! We are so lucky to have you in our extended family! I have ordered something “pink” for you. I hope to be able to mail it to you next week! Love from the Bemowski’s!

  9. Noreen Hernandez October 3, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    I have repeated your inspirational story hundreds of times. Thank you for sharing your honesty, humor and strength with all of us. Love you and all our prayers are coming your way.

Leave a Reply

