Kind of Freaky

8 Oct

October 7, 2010

Yesterday I was going to stay in all day but fate had other plans for me.  Bobby woke up with an ear infection so it looked like we were going to the doctor.  I was leaving my safe haven whether I liked it or not.  And since we were going out anyway, why not make the most of it?  I put on my fancy scarf  (!) and we headed out to Panera before the appointment.

Since this was the first time we ventured outside of our home with “no hair” we were both a little nervous.  Once we arrived and started walking toward the restaurant, Bobby said “this is kind of freaky.”  I told him that I agreed and that I felt the same way.  But we put on our brave faces, held hands, and walked inside.

Bobby stood right next to me as I ordered.   We found a booth at the back of the restaurant (baby steps!) and sat down to eat our pumpkin muffins.  We survived.  There were no snickers, gasps, pointing of fingers… just people doing their thing in Panera as we were doing ours.  I told Bobby that this was a big step for both of us.  I told him that he made me brave and that I was so glad he was there with me.

This reminded me of the time he was a baby and I decided to attend a church play group.  I was so nervous and told my sister that I didn’t want to go because I didn’t know anyone.  She said “you know Bobby.”  She was right of course.  I knew Bobby.  I had a built-in friend.  If no one talked to us, we’d talk to each other.  I mustered up my courage and the two of us headed out together into the unknown. 

Yesterday was a lot like that day.  The two of us heading out together into the unknown.  He’ll never know just how strong he made me, how brave he made me, and how much I needed that little hand in mine–just as I did on that day long ago.

I know we both came through yesterday a little stronger and a little more courageous than we were when we woke up…

Not so bad for a day that started out kind of freaky.

8 Responses to “Kind of Freaky”

  1. Sandy October 8, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    How sweet! I hope you are both feeling better. I’m glad you got out with Bobby. He sounds like a wonderful little boy!!!

  2. Sandy October 8, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    P.S. Your sister is a very wise gal!

  3. cousin mary October 8, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    I am so glad you have that little hand to hold on to this time. I wish you both many more outings. Take care, Cathy.

  4. Cousin Kathleen October 8, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Bobby now knows what it takes to get through tough times… lots of love and a special hand to hold on to. Keep on ‘trekking’ Cathy… You are doing GREAT!

  5. Noreen October 8, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    🙂 My heart just warmed up a little. Love to all of you.

  6. Diane October 8, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Cathy,
    You’re a wonderful parent and my nephew is wonderful too!.

    You need to put a NSFW (not suitable for work) warning when you’re going to make me cry. :o) No, they all know I’m a nut there anyway!

    I’m glad your freaky day turned into such a positive experience for both of you.

    As always, I LOVE reading your blog.

    Love,
    Diane

  7. XO M October 8, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Courage comes in so many unexpected ways. Pink Ribbons to you and our precious Bobby.

  8. Carrie October 9, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    The best friend you will ever find. His words and his face will get you through anything life throws your way. Love to my sweet boy.

Leave a Reply

