Sugar High!

15 Oct

October 15, 2010

On Wednesday evening, I held a wine, dessert, and jewelry fundraiser in my home for our Making Strides Against Breast Cancer team. It was incredibly heartwarming to see all these women who have touched my life in different ways and different places come together…mingling, laughing, celebrating.

We drank wine, indulged in lots of sweets, played dress-up with jewelry, and raised over $200 for the American Cancer Society.  A very special thank you goes to Maureen from Cookie Lee jewelry who graciously filled in at the last moment for Fern Flaim who was ill. Maureen donated 25% of each jewelry sale to our team.

Getting ready for the guests to arrive:

My sister-in-laws and nieces:

Grandma Peggy and the Bobs:

Ms. Fields’ Kindergarten Moms (even when our boys are 18 I’m sure we’ll still think of ourselves as Ms. Fields’ Kindergarten Moms (MFKM):

My neighbors:

The good old Hewitt days:

Lots of shopping:

Lots of sweets (even enough to bring home to the boys!):

And lots of fun:

A lifetime of family and friends together in one place for a wonderful cause. It was a lovely evening!

3 Responses to “Sugar High!”

  1. Noreen October 16, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Cathy, I LOVED the scarf. Now I’m not sure which is cuter-wig or scarf. How great that you have two tres chic choices, depending on your mood. Love you.

  2. Sandy October 16, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Looks like a good time for a worthy cause. You look great by the way!!

  3. Fern October 16, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Cathy,
    I’m delighted your fundraiser was so successful! I knew through team work, it would be huge success! Can’t wait to do the next one with you! Have a great walk tomorrow and I’ll be thinking of you as I walk with my own team, K DUBS CANCER THUGS which will be walking at the first STRIDES WALK at Cantigny. Talk to you next week.
    Love,
    Fern

Leave a Reply

