I’ve Been Inspired…

22 Nov

November 22, 2010

It’s been so long since I’ve written a post. I’ve been uninspired, in a slump, in a rut. Same old thing… chemo, sleep, food doesn’t taste good, feel better, herceptin, food tastes good again, herceptin, chemo, sleep…etc. But this weekend something very blog-worthy happened to me so I’m back at my computer!

This story is true. Name has been changed to protect the innocent guilty.

On Saturday I decided to run over to Michael’s to pick up a few things. I slapped on my hair, a hat, and headed out.

After finding what I needed, I walked up to the cashier who happened to be a woman I worked with a few years ago. (I had a brief stint as Event Coordinator at Michael’s back in 2005-06.) This is what transpired:

Cathy (in a cheerful voice and smile): “Hi Bertha…it’s Cathy!”

Bertha: “Cathy. You look horrible.” 

Brief pause as I digest what she had just said to me.

Cathy: “Um, well, I have cancer.” 

Bertha (flustered, scrambling, squirming): “Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry, I didn’t mean it, it’s just that you didn’t have any makeup on, and I’m used to… blah, blah, blah, blah…”

Cathy thinking: Yea… whatever Bertha.

Bertha: “Cathy, I’m a hairdresser and you can call me for anything.” 

Cathy: “Bertha, I have no hair. I’m bald.” 

I was giving her nothing.

Bertha (scribbling her number on a piece of paper): “I’d love for you to come over for lunch some day.”

Cathy (thinking): Are you out of your f-ing mind????

Cathy: “That would be nice.”

Bertha thanked me for my purchase and off I went.

I gathered my things, crumbled up her number, and headed out to my car while pondering this thought:

Why in the world would someone say something like that? In what situation would it ever be okay to say something like that to someone? Mind-boggling. Fascinating. Downright bizarre, yet oddly humorous.

Well, nice seeing you too, Bertha. Oh, and by the way, you don’t look so hot yourself.

7 Responses to “I’ve Been Inspired…”

  1. Tricia Vanover November 22, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    OMG. What is up with our society these days. As my grandfather always said, “Kill ’em with kindness.” That’s what you did, you beautiful human being!!! You rock!

  2. Diane November 22, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    I’m glad you found the humor in that situation. You have me both laughing and crying, as usual.

    I hope things are all uphill for you from here on out!

    By the way, NO it is never okay to say something like that to someone you are just running into. Ugh. You should have told her she looked like she’s gained about 20 lbs. You’re lucky you changed her name or I would have soaped the windows on her car. Grrr.

    Hope you have a great week!

    See you soon,
    Diane

  3. Sandy November 22, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    Cathy, I am so proud of you for getting out there. I’m sure “Bertha’s” comment was hurtful (and dumb), but I hope that won’t stop you for going out and doing things you enjoy, whenever you can.

    I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!! We are going to Tommy and Jens for dinner.

    I am thankful for many things this year, but one of the most important is that you are getting well!

    Much Love, Sandy

    • Fawn November 23, 2010 at 12:47 am #

      Glad to hear you’re hanging in there. What was Bertha thinking?????

  4. Donna Johnson November 23, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Hi Cathy!!! I’m so glad that Bob gave me your blog address.. altho I must confess that it was a few months ago. I LOVE your writings..you have a gift here, girlfriend!!! I will be checking in often..and I will be going home to get out my special Christmas Lady that you created and I will leave her on my foyer bench to remind me to pray for you and the Bobs!!! God Bless > Donna

  5. Carrie November 24, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Yikes!
    I wish you would have asked her when her baby was due 😉
    Good job anyway!

  6. Marsha November 28, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    Cathy,
    I am so happy that you blogged this. You are so strong and fast with your mouth. I wish that I could be that way when someone says something like that to me. It happened many years ago and I just…let her ramble. Stay well and continue with your wonderful sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

