Giving Thanks and Getting Ready

1 Dec

November 30, 2010

I can’t believe that almost a week has passed since Thanksgiving day. We had a wonderful time at Grandma Peggy’s house this year. Of course I have so much to be thankful for–my family, my friends, my health, and right up there with them is how grateful I was that my taste buds finally came back in time for the big day!

I shoveled in turkey, cranberry sauce, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, jello, pumpkin pie, cranberry gooey cake and wine until I couldn’t shovel any more in–and then I went back for more. There’s nothing like having food taste like metal (thanks to chemo) for a week to make you truly appreciate life’s simple pleasures…

Did I mention that wine tasted good again?!

On Thursday night we talked about taking part in the Black Friday doorbuster madness, but getting up at 3 or 4am sounds like a fun idea until it’s actually 3 or 4am and you’re in your warm, toasty bed. We did manage to get up and out at 6:30am but there were very little doorbusters left so late in the morning! We did end up with a few $1.96 DVDs, a DS game, and a wireless printer. Merry Christmas to us!

Then we headed back home to put up Christmas decorations…

The holiday season is here and we’re ready!

2 Responses to “Giving Thanks and Getting Ready”

  1. Fawn December 2, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    I’m jealous that you already have your decorations up! I haven’t even started. I’m glad you had a good appetite for Thanksgiving and maybe you should ask Santa for a wine glass so you don’t have to drink out of the bottle anymore….

  2. Nancy Reidy December 2, 2010 at 4:11 am #

    You have a wonderful family! The picture of the food on the table ready to be eaten cracked me up. My mom always has us take a picture of all the food on the table at holidays. I thought we were the only family that did that!

Leave a Reply

