Stand

9 Dec

December 9, 2010

How do you follow that Sundance post? I almost didn’t want to try. But I’m sure we’ll have more exciting information to share soon so until then, you’ll just have to read about my boring cancer!

Friday I had my 5th chemo treatment which means only one more! Since my 6th treatment would fall on Christmas Eve, we’ve re-scheduled it for December 30. What a way to say good-bye to 2010. All I can say is good riddance to you.

I’m slowly getting my strength back and other than being tired, muscles hurting when I walk, eyebrows falling out, and living on a diet of water and cottage cheese, I’m doing pretty good. On those days when I’m feeling down though, I listen to this song by Rascal Flatts and it makes me feel stronger. I always cry though.

Stand

You feel like a candle in a hurricane
Just like a picture with a broken frame
Alone and helpless
Like you’ve lost your fight
But you’ll be alright, you’ll be alright

Cause when push comes to shove
You taste what you’re made of
You might bend, till you break
Cause its all you can take
On your knees you look up
Decide you’ve had enough
You get mad you get strong
Wipe your hands shake it off
Then you stand

Life’s like a novel
With the end ripped out
The edge of a canyon
With only one way down
Take what you’re given before its gone
Start holding on, keep holding on

Cause when push comes to shove
You taste what you’re made of
You might bend till you break
Cause it’s all you can take
On your knees you look up
Decide you’ve had enough
You get mad, you get strong
Wipe your hands, shake it off
Then you stand

Everytime you get up
And get back in the race
One more small piece of you
Starts to fall into place

Cause when push comes to shove
You taste what you’re made of
You might bend till you break
Cause it’s all you can take
On your knees you look up
Decide you’ve had enough
You get mad, you get strong
Wipe your hands, shake it off
Then you stand

Yep, I’m crying now. But I’m standing.

One more to go!

11 Responses to “Stand”

  1. Helen Mackie December 9, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    This was great…did a number on my make up..but all worth it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Margaret Kuretich December 9, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Cathy:

    You made me cry as well!! Thanks for always sharing with us your 2010 cancer journey. What a fitting way to end the year! You have shown such courage and have been a wonderful example of how to handle the ups and downs in OUR lives.

    Also, a big CONGRATS to Bob on the selection of his video for the Sundance Film Festival. Say hello to “Bob” Redford for me and I can’t wait to hear all the stories upon your return.

    Best of luck to you, Bob and Bobby and best wishes for a blessed and wonderful 2011.

    Margaret

  3. Becky (Nelson) Hunter December 9, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Thanks for the update and for sharing your heart along the way.
    I am so glad you were able to move your appointment and thrilled you will get to leave Chemo back in 2010!
    Praying God would give you extra strength to Stand!
    (Check out 1 Corinthians 10:31):)

    Love you!
    Becky

  4. Silvia December 9, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    Hi Cathy. I am always happy to read your blogs and hope that 2011 will bring you lots of great health and much needed R&R. Take care…our thoughts are always with you!

  5. Fawn December 10, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    Once you have your last chemo in December you can give your full attention to getting ready for your trip to Utah. It will be such an exciting time and a great way to begin the new year!

  6. cousin mary December 10, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Cathy,
    Not only do you stand, but you stand with such strength and grace. One more to go!
    Love ,Mary

  7. Tricia Vanover December 10, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Hi Cathy,

    After I read your post, I listened to the song. What a beautiful song and it fits you perfectly. You’re allowed to feel down, but you always get back up–that’s what I love about you!!!

    I’ll see you soon,

    Tricia

  8. Rebecca December 10, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Only one more ~ Yay!!! Many blessings to you all for a joyous Holiday. Thinking of you each day 😉 ~ Rebecca

  9. Sandy December 14, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Hi Cathy,

    I am so glad that you are nearing the end of chemo. I hope you and your family enjoy Christmas and am wishing you a happy and healthy 2011!!

    Love, Sandy

  10. Noreen December 14, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    You are not only standing, girl you are flying!!
    Enjoy your Christmas, and here’s to saying good bye to 2010!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m a Vlogger… I think… « WhimsyGab - December 29, 2010

    […] December 9, 2010 Stand […]

Leave a Reply

