Eenie Meenie Miney Moes. Look what Chemo Has Done to my Toes…

30 Dec

December 30, 2010

My toes hurt.

It’s the strangest thing. My toes started hurting and the nails were changing colors. Reddish and black–like they were bruised or something. At first I thought it might be ingrown toe nails or the fact that I wore some shoes on Christmas day that smashed my toes together. But that just didn’t seem right so on a whim I decided to google “Chemotherapy and Toenails” and lo and behold, there it was:

Fingernail and Toenail Disorders due to Chemotherapy.

OMG.  I have a toenail disorder. Right before my very eyes I saw my disgusting toes looking right back up at me. It turns out it’s actually a condition called Onycholysis. What happens is that the chemo drugs cause damage to the tissue that keeps your fingernails and toenails in place. These drugs can cause nails to loosen, with blood collecting under each nail.

Ick. Gross. Yuck. Ouch.

How horrifying. And here I thought I was sliding into home having dodged many of the dreaded side effects. I guess I was wrong. I now have bloody, painful toe nails. (And my fingernails aren’t so hot either.)

Who wants to see them? I must warn you though, you may be grossed out.

So there it is. Toenails separating from my toes in a pool of blood. 

Isn’t chemotherapy fun?

It’s almost over though. I’m leaving in a few minutes for my LAST treatment. I can take it but let’s just hope my toenails can hang in there with me!

5 Responses to “Eenie Meenie Miney Moes. Look what Chemo Has Done to my Toes…”

  1. Fawn December 30, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    OUCHHH!!!!! As if you don’t have enough to deal with already.

  2. Noreen December 30, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    Ouch! I hope you aren’t in a lot of pain. I’m thinking of you and sending out a prayer for you. Here’s to the end of 2010…and the beginning of a wonderful 2011! Happy New Year to you Bob and Bobby!! Love You.

  3. Sandy December 30, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Lovely! This looks and sounds just like what I had with 3 of my toenails in February, but the doctor called it “Paranechia”. He thought it was highly unusual that I had it on 2 different feet. Just to let you know, I lost all 3 nails, but they grew back just fine. I hope yours do too!

    I will be thinking of you tomorrow, and celebrating in my own head as you have your last chemo treatment.

    Happy New Year to you, Bob and Bobby!

  4. Diane December 31, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    Mental note…no open toed shoes at Sundance.

    You’re in the home stretch! Hang in there, we can always get you Lee Press on Toe Nails. :o)

    Another 10 days or so of feeling icky and then a lifetime of happiness awaits you!

    Your New Years Resolution should be NO MORE CANCER!

  5. Margaret Kulis December 31, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    When all this is over–it will be major pedicure time!

Leave a Reply

