I’m Hungry…

6 Jan

January 6, 2011

I don’t know how I did this…

But I sure took a nose dive the next day. It’s been one week since my last chemo treatment and I’m slowly coming back to life. This week I’ve been sleepy, a little down, and obsessed with food. I can’t eat much of anything but it’s all I think about. I even dreamt that I was walking down a hillside covered with cupcakes and cookies. I reached down, grabbed a big cupcake with white fluffy frosting, and stuffed it in my mouth.

I watch a lot of food shows on television and I’ve grown very fond of Man vs. Food. Adam Richman is my new hero.

I want a banana split. I want Pepsi. I want hazelnut coffee. I want a pumpkin muffin. I want a $3.00 cupcake from the cupcake shop in Crystal Lake. I want a hamburger. I want Girl Scout cookies.

Yesterday my girlfriend asked me if I wanted to buy Girl Scout cookies. Hmm…let me think about that for a second. OF COURSE I want to buy Girl Scout cookies. She directed me to the Girl Scout cookie website where you can meet the cookies and, oh boy, did I meet them. I know everything there is to know about Thin Mints, Trefoils, Do-Si-Dos, Samoas, Dulce De Leche and Tagalongs. (Such sophisticated names they have these days.) I even watched a little cookie video. As the cookies were rolling in and out of the screen telling me all the good things they do for Girl Scouts, I just wanted to grab them and shove them in my mouth. Lucky for them I couldn’t. They’re safe for the time being.

Cheese has been my friend these past days. I don’t know what I’d do without cheese. I discovered that if I put cream cheese and cheddar cheese in the microwave for 9 seconds, it’s like a slice of heaven. And yesterday I put them in the oven so that the cheese was bubbly and a little brown. Perfection.

So that’s been my week. Sleeping, eating cheese, dreaming of food, watching shows about food, obsessing about food. I think I’ve gone crazy. I truly think I’m losing my mind. But at least I’m heading out into the world today for a doctor appointment. Hopefully getting out of the house will give me something else to focus on besides food…

But until then, I think I’ll stalk those little cookies some more.

4 Responses to “I’m Hungry…”

  1. Daisy January 6, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Hey! I got a shout out on your blog! woot, woot! Your wish is my command sista, I’ll get those cookies over to ya as fast as I can (well, once we get the shipment) – you hold tight! Good to hear your appetite’s returning! Your posts are too funny! 🙂 Take care!

  2. Sandy January 6, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Hi Cathy,
    Only YOU can describe food cravings so perfectly! I’m glad you have your appetite back and so happy you finally have finished chemo. Too bad it’s for a doctor appointment, but enjoy your day out!

  3. Greg Martin January 6, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    No Banana Flings?

  4. christin January 7, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    HEY! That was an awesome picture I took!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 Seriously that looks so fun & cute, be proud. And I am SO proud of you for how strong you partied on NYE. You amaze me!!!!!

Leave a Reply

