Life After Chemo. It’s Ring Ting Tingling Good…

13 Jan

January 13, 2011

Life after chemo is good…so good. I’m beyond grateful that it’s over. I feel as though I’ve just been released from prison. Chemo prison. I’m off of my cheese diet and out of bed. My hair will soon return and my toenails will stop hurting. I don’t have to spend every Friday hooked up to an IV. I can throw out my cancer file and the Biotene mouthwash. I can donate my hats and put my wigs in the Halloween bin. Chemo is over. Goodbye. Adios. Au revoir.

Six months. A half a year ago. In some ways it seems like yesterday that I went for my first treatment yet in other ways it seems like a lifetime ago. I know one thing for sure though. If someone had told me back then that when I finished chemo, I would be taking a sleigh ride in Utah with my family, I would have thought they were crazy. But it turns out that yes, I’ll be taking a sleigh ride in Utah with my family. Unbelievable.

Yesterday we received an email with our itinerary for Sundance. It’s surreal. There are dinners and breakfasts, interviews, movie screenings, our movie premiere, an after-the-premiere party, and…oh yes, a sleigh ride. Bobby asked me if the sleigh went up in the air. On the heels of Santa’s visit, I can see where he might have thought that and honestly, I feel as though it very possibly could. I feel as though Santa has dumped his whole big bag of gifts on us.

So with chemo behind me and Bob and Bobby by my side, I’m ready to jump on that sleigh and see where it takes us….

Giddy yap, giddy yap, giddy yap…let’s go!

5 Responses to “Life After Chemo. It’s Ring Ting Tingling Good…”

  1. Cousin Kathleen January 13, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    You did it Cathy!!!!!! May your ‘sleigh’ ride never touch down! Give Bob & Bobby a hug for me… you all have so much to be proud of! Love, Kathleen.

  2. Helen Mackie January 13, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    I have goosebumps and tears..I am so happy for all of you! It time that these good…really great..things come your way! Can’t wait to see you all on the big screen!

  3. Diane January 13, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    :o)

  4. Fawn January 13, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    The only thing that could make this better is big fluffy snowflakes during the sleigh ride. Enjoy!!!! You deserve it!

  5. Noreen January 23, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I can hardly type because my eyes are filling up with happy tears for your family. Enjoy every second! Love,
    Noreen

Leave a Reply

