What Not To Wear…

18 Jan

Janary 18, 2011

What Not To Wear? Basically everything in my closet.

When I found out about our trip to Sundance, I knew I needed fashion help. Since most of my clothes come from stores that also sell groceries, I knew I needed guidance and I knew just who to turn to. My fashionista sister-in-laws Diane and Jennifer. They are two of the most fashionable people I know. Not only do they look great but they know just where to find incredible deals.

They were up for the challenge so we made a date to go shopping. With my stylists at my side, we headed out on Saturday afternoon. Our first stop was lunch of course (everyone knows you can’t shop on an empty stomach) and then it was on to Hawthorn mall in search of Sundance-worthy clothes.

Now remember, I was with professionals. We were barely through the front door of Macy’s when Diane had a pair of the most adorable shoes in her hands that were 75% off. We were off to a terrific start. Everywhere we looked there were signs beckoning us…30% off, 50% off, 70% off.

After a few hours we were exhausted. All that walking, trying on clothes, digging through racks, and calculating percentages was tiring. That’s when we decided we needed coffee and cookies to get us through the rest of the day, so it was off to the Barnes and Noble cafe to rest our weary feet.

Filled with caffeine and sugar, we were re-energized to scout out more winter chic at rock bottom prices. And that we did. (Well, except for the black shrug pricetag which I’m till trying to get over!)

We all ended up finding great things (hey, stylists need clothes too.) There were a few Fashion Don’ts along the way (namely the sweater dress!) but all in all our shopping trip was a whopping success. 

Thank you Jen and Diane for a great day. You are incredible sister-in-laws and stylists. Stacy and Clinton would have been so proud…

I love you both!

8 Responses to “What Not To Wear…”

  1. Diane January 18, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Thanks Cathy. You failed to mention the ‘magic jeans’ which you just knew wouldn’t fit because they were at least 2 sizes lower than you normally buy and they did. You only tried them on to humour Jen. Oh, and I love how you cleverly forgot to mention the fact that you fit into a size 4 dress. You are a skinny mini and you need to embrace it. Finally, although we didn’t find everything that was on her list, we left her with some sound advice…whatever you think fits you, go at least 1 size smaller.

    I had a great time and really want to hang out again soon. It was fun doing, just the girls.

    Knock them dead at Sundance, you hottie!

  2. Helen Mackie January 18, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Please Please..put these into a book! You are a fabulous writer! Love each and every entry.

    Thank you!

  3. Becky (Nelson) Hunter January 18, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    And when, may I ask, do we get the friends and family fashion show? You ARE a beautiful woman inside and out!

  4. Carrie January 18, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Thank you Diane! Cathy you do not wear a men’s size XL……..

    I know you will look fantastic at every function you attend. This is just too exciting!!

    xo

  5. Jennifer January 18, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Cathy – Saturday was a blast! Thanks again for inviting me. I couldn’t stop talking about it that night! Tom didn’t want to hear how great those size 6 jeans looked on you anymore! I can’t wait to see pictures from Sundance. Love you too!

  6. Sandy January 18, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful shopping experience! I’m hoping that we get to see these outfits in pictures from Sundance. Make sure you know the designors names when the reporters ask “who are you wearing?” Have fun!

  7. Fawn January 19, 2011 at 1:19 am #

    That’s one more thing crossed off your list of things to do before your trip. It will be here before you know it!!!

  8. Noreen January 23, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Sounds like the shopping excursion was as much fun as Sundance will be! I know you will look fantastic! Bon Voyage!! Can’t wait to hear all about the trip. And I second the vote on the book idea, it would be a best seller. Love, Noreen

Leave a Reply

