Spring is in the Air…

20 Mar

March 20, 2011

And I’m beginning to see my hair!

Yes, my hair and eyebrows are finally coming back and now when I look in the mirror I’m beginning to see glimpses of my old self again–instead of the alien that I’ve become.

Unfortunately my toenails are not faring as well. They’ve held on for quite a while but it won’t be long before they’re gone. Oh well, if that is the worst long-term effect of the chemo, then I consider myself lucky.

As far as treatments go, I finished chemo on December 30 but I continue to go into the office every three weeks for Herceptin. This will continue through September. Herceptin is given intravenously and as Dr. Cobleigh told us months ago, it really is a piece of cake compared to chemo. I go in on Friday mornings, make a stop at Panera for coffee, head over to the office with books, magazines, and computer, and settle into the big recliner with a blanket and pillow. Oddly enough, I feel a sense of comfort when I’m there. Knowing that this incredible drug is attacking any nasty cancer cells that may be lurking inside my body, and doing so without the horrible effects of chemo, is a miracle. I feel extremely grateful.

So with the worst of the treatments behind me, I’m looking forward to spring, looking forward to hair, and looking forward to looking forward.

Welcome Spring. It’s great to have you back.

3 Responses to “Spring is in the Air…”

  1. marsha March 20, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    I also believe spring is in the air and you are a breath of spring with your wonderful spirit. I am happy to call you my friend.

  2. Cousin Kathleen March 21, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    Cathy you epitomize the word Spring; from your beautiful smile to your phenomenal outlook! Enjoy springing forward! Love, Kathleen.

  3. Fawn March 21, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    You know it’s going to be a good week when Spring and a new season of DWTS both start. Enjoy!!!!

Leave a Reply

