Hanging in There and Surviving the Drop…!

5 May

May 5, 2011

Just a quick post to let you know that I’m feeling good and I’m hanging in there!

Like my little friend, my hair is slowly returning…

And even though my hair is much longer than my husband’s and brother-in-law’s….

I’m still not quite ready to go without my scarves. It’s interesting how something that caused me such anxiety in October (wearing scarves) could give me such comfort and security today. Just give me a few more months though and I’m sure I’ll be sporting my new hair-do and not thinking a thing of it.

I still continue to go into the oncologist’s office every three weeks for Herceptin and blood work. Last week I had an Echocardiogram to make sure the Herceptin isn’t causing damage to my heart–and thankfully it isn’t. My heart is hanging in there too.

I’ve been slowing things down a bit, clearing my head with visits to my therapist (I need her!), healing my body with a visit to a nutritionist (needed her too!), and soothing my soul with things like coffee with my girlfriends, spending time with family, taking bike rides (when it’s not raining or snowing), catching up with the Real Housewives, and reading with my favorite new toy–my NOOK! A complete birthday surprise from Bob. Only the classics for me though…

I’ve been able to spend more time at Bobby’s school which makes me so happy. I wasn’t able to be there too much this year and I missed it terribly.

No, this picture isn’t from November. It was April and we were hiking in the freezing cold during Earth Week…

Yesterday was the big Egg Drop. Bobby wrapped his egg in bubble wrap, stuck it in a box with some sort of hay, put that box inside of another box, and taped it shut. His egg was ready to be dropped from the balcony…

As I stood there watching the teachers throw those innocent little eggs, protected in bubble wrap and other various materials, off the balcony and onto the hard, cold brick–landing with thuds or plops…

I couldn’t help but think how much our family has felt like those eggs this past year. It’s as though we were thrown off a balcony onto the hard, cold brick and as we were falling we wondered if we’d end up splattered, scrambled–or worse. But thankfully, just like Bobby’s egg yesterday…

Our family survived the drop too!

As we’re approaching the year anniversary of my diagnosis, I just want to say how much we appreciate our friends, family, doctors, and nurses who continue to soothe our minds, souls, and bodies everyday.

You’re our bubble wrap in the big Egg Drop of life…

Thank you for hanging in there with us!

6 Responses to “Hanging in There and Surviving the Drop…!”

  1. Diane May 5, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    You are so great at these blog posts. Such a way with words. Loved the post, as always!

  2. Fawn May 5, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    I saw my first hummingbird of the season today so I’m hoping that means we can finally put away those winter coats. Happy Cinco de Mayo! Sounds like the perfect excuse to have a SkinnyGirl. I bet they are even nutritionist approved!

  3. Tricia Vanover May 5, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    Amazing words from an amazing woman! So glad you’re in my life. Love ya!

  4. Laura Psimaras May 5, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Beautiful words from a beautiful person! Love you!

  5. Becky (Nelson) Hunter May 5, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Not only did you survive the drop, Your family unit seems even stronger! SO thankful with you and FOR you!

  6. marsha May 6, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    This post gave me chills. I am so happy that you are doing well. Keep writing…I miss your posts.

Leave a Reply

