The People’s Premiere!

5 Jul

July 5, 2011

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

We woke up to another beautiful sunny day–a perfect day for a premiere! Unfortunately though, we slept through the morning as jet lag finally set in. Oh well, knowing that we only had a few hours until we needed to get ready for the screening, we decided to stay close to home and explore Notting Hill. First stop was lunch of course… and we found that dough balls can really get your day off to a great start…

After taking in the sights of Notting Hill we went back home to get ready and meet up with the gang. A quick group photo and we were off to the theatre…

Some Red Carpet fun before the movie began…

And one of the interviews we did. (We come on at about 8:30)…

Life In A Day – The People’s Premiere

Once in the theatre, we settled in to watch the movie. Even though this was the third time I’ve seen the film I never tire of it. In fact, I always find something new, beautiful, funny, or touching that I hadn’t noticed before. I’m still in awe that we’re a part of this amazing film.

Afterwards, a Q&A with members of the audience…

Then off to the premiere party…

Marek and Bob with the beautiful and talented Liza, producer of Life In A Day…

What a day! What a year! We are so incredibly thankful for this experience. People thank us for sharing something so personal with the world but we believe we’ve received far more than we’ve given.

As we were leaving the theatre after the London premiere, a family came up to talk to us. They were a family just like us (a mother, father, and young son) who had been through a similiar experience as ours. It was the first time Bobby had the opportunity to connect with another little boy who had gone through the same thing as he had. They talked and laughed, even shared funny “bald” stories, and I could see in Bobby’s eyes just how wonderful this was for him. A little bond between two little boys. What an incredible gift. Connecting with people who have been touched by this disease has meant so much to us and we’ll cherish these moments forever.

So, as another Premiere day came to a close, we returned to our Notting Hill “home” to relax, reflect, and revel in our beautiful memories of a beautiful day.

Ahhhh… and what a day it was…

7 Responses to “The People’s Premiere!”

  1. Fawn July 6, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Bobby had the right idea about how to end the perfect day you all had.

  2. Tricia Vanover July 6, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    What an amazing experience!! I’m so excited for all of you.

  3. Lisa Cottrell-Bentley July 6, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Beautiful! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this all out. I love hearing about your lives now. 🙂 The photos are fantastic to see. I love seeing you all smiling on the red carpet.

    P.S. I’m a fellow contributor (my daughter’s the one doing the hula-hoop while solving the Rubik’s cube).

  4. marsha July 6, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    I love reading about your experiences. You are a gifted writer. My favorite picture thou, is of Bobby, especially with the shower cap on.

  5. Dean July 6, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Indeed…. what a wonderful day it was. Your story in the movie really touched me. I know that fight all too well . I fought AML Leukemia twice. In 07 I had a bone marrow transplant, which so far has taken care of it.
    I am the Las Vegas proposal guy in the film. I hope all is well with you and your lovely family. Thanks for sharing your story .
    🙂

    • whimsyco July 10, 2011 at 9:11 am #

      Hi Dean! Thank you so much for writing. I’m so sorry to hear that you had to battle this horrible disease twice and am so thankful to know that you are a survivor! Yay for us!! We absolutely loved your clip and I wanted to let you know that during the Q&A in London, a member for the audience asked about you! She wanted to know if you got married and Kevin said yes! Congratulations!! Hopefully we’ll be able to meet some day. I love Las Vegas and Bob and I want to come for a vacation some day! Thank you again for writing! Love, Cathy

  6. whimsyco July 10, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Hi Lisa! Thank you so much for writing! We love your clip! The audience has always laughed every time we’ve seen the movie (it’s been 3 times for us!) She’s adorable!

    I appreciate so much that you read my blog and that you wrote!

    Love, Cathy

Leave a Reply

