Herceptin: A Piece of Cake

26 Aug

August 26, 2011

I just finished my very last Herceptin treatment–and 2 weeks early to boot. I guess I was sprung from the Big House early for good behavior! So now I’m officially on the maintenance plan (somewhat like Weight Watchers I guess.)

I didn’t realize until I walked out today (feeling very light-hearted) just how heavy these treatments were weighing on my mind. Even though I’ve been given an excellent prognosis and am considered cancer-free, walking into the doctor office every three weeks was still a constant reminder of cancer, and was quite unnerving.

Looking back at my post from last year on my first day of Herceptin (Herceptin: A Piece of Cake), I was feeling really sad. But today… not at all. I’m happy… I’m done… And I’m going to celebrate!

How am I going to celebrate?

With cake of course. A big piece of No-More-Herceptin cake…

Happy No-More-Herceptin Day to us!

5 Responses to “Herceptin: A Piece of Cake”

  1. Jenny August 26, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Congratulations!

  2. Nancy Reidy August 26, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    That’s wonderful! I’m so happy for you. Your strength through all of this has been absolutely amazing and you are truly an inspiration. Congratulations!!!

  3. Margaret August 27, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    Fantastic news! What a year it has been! Sending you continued positive thoughts. Hugs from Margaret

  4. Helen Mackie August 29, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Cathy,
    You are a great example of celebrating the little things …and really enjoying life! Thanks for sharing..as always..I LOVE reading your blog!

  5. XO M August 30, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Cathy – For all who know you and love you, everyday is a celebration of you and the courage you have shown this past year – and I”m certainly all for a piece of cake everyday too! XO M

Leave a Reply

