Everyone Needs a Little Hope in Their Life!

13 Oct

October 14, 2011

And why is that?

Well, because hope is positive and optimistic. Hope keeps you going when times get tough. Hope keeps you dreaming. Hope looks forward to a happy tomorrow, even if today isn’t so happy. Hope is believing and trusting. Yes, hope is one of those things in life you cannot do without!

And Hope is the name of the little dolls I’ve been making this past few months. Li’l Hope …

These dolls are my way of giving back and being a part of the Pink Ribbon community that has given so much hope to so many women… hope for a cure, hope for a future. I’ve been so fortunate to have benefited from many of the advances that have been made in the fight against breast cancer and I want to contribute in my own way to this fight. All of the pink ribbon fabric used is fabric that gives back to various breast cancer research organizations through percentage of sales and when I sell a doll, I donate a percentage to breast cancer research as well.

Last October my treatments for breast cancer were just beginning and thankfully they’re all behind me now. It was a tough year but through it all I never gave up hope. And Li’l Hope, with her crazy hair, big smile, and pink ribbon skirt is a sweet and simple reminder for me to always keep that hope in my heart… to always keep dreaming and keep believing that it’s all going to be okay. That’s what her little face tells me when I look into those button eyes!  And you know what? I believe her!

Yep, everyone needs a little hope in their life!

 

11 Responses to “Everyone Needs a Little Hope in Their Life!”

  1. Becky October 13, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Cathy,
    Lil Hope is darling! I think the expressions on these sweet little ladies is beautiful.
    You have been such an encouragement to others by the way you have been able to share throughout your struggle. Thank you for that and for continuing to give back!
    There is a verse in the book of Romans (chapter 5)that talks about how we can “glory in our sufferings because suffering produces endurance and endurance produces character, and character produces HOPE and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts.”
    Thank you for sharing the HOPE that has been poured into you.

    I may need a darling Hope or two. . . .

  2. Daisy Hoeft October 14, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Dolls are adorables!! Sage and I plan to go to the raft fair – see you there!

  3. XO M October 14, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Your most beautiful Blog ever! Ever! Hope soars – in our hearts – on the wings of angels and in the faces of your adorable “Lil Hopes”! XO M

    • whimsyco October 17, 2011 at 8:48 am #

      Thank you mom! I love you!

  4. Marsha October 14, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Hope is beautiful and I especially love the one with glasses. Everyone that I have given Li’l Hope to just smiles. She has brought so much to my friends!

    Flowers wilt, candy ends up on the hips, but Li’l Hope lasts a lifetime.

  5. Helen Mackie October 17, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Oh darn..I was out on Friday and didn’t get this post until today…where else can I buy one of these ???They are just precious!!

    • whimsyco October 17, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      Hi Helen! Thank you so much! I can bring them into the office if you’d like! I have some left from the show, am making more, and/or can make one with colors that you choose! We can email to figure it out.

  6. Roz October 20, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    Cathy, I am so grateful to have bumped into you at the craft fair on Saturday. The Little Hopes that I purchased have been hanging out with me before mailing them off. They – and you – make me smile. Hope endures! xo

    • whimsyco October 20, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Thank you so much Roz! Your note made my day! I was so happy to see you and so happy that your dolls make you smile! That means so much to me!

  7. Nancy Wunderlich October 21, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Cathy, everyone is right. The dolls are adorable and inspirational—as are you! I would love to get some of the dolls. Let me know what you have available. I can also wait for the new “batch”. Be careful, these dolls are so cute they may just go viral!

    Have a great day. Nancy Wunderlich.

  8. Cathy May 31, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    I have to tell you how much you touched my heart when you said you had cancer. My great grandmother died from breast cancer, long before they really new how to treat it. She was 48. My grandmother and mother had cancer and beat it!!! I have to tell you your dolls will bring the hope you are wishing for not only for those who need it but it will continue to renew your hope and strength everytime you make one. Trust the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding (or listen to those incredibly negative comments that the dark one likes to whisper) in all your ways acknowlege him and HE will direct your paths. Looks like HE is already doing that. My prayers go with you today! Hugs Cathy

Leave a Reply

