Okay, We’re Changing Colors…

9 Sep

September 9, 2012

In my last post (which really was going to be my last!) I said it was time to wrap up this leg of my journey and put my little blog on the shelf. Well my blog is literally on the shelf thanks to Blog2Print, a website that magically turned it into a real book…

Oh, if only life were as neat and tidy as that. Wrap it up, magically put it on a shelf, live happily ever after…

But we all know that life isn’t as neat and tidy as that. Life’s journeys change course and change colors–and mine has done just that. My newest journey, along with my family, is to be a support to my father as he bravely navigates his journey with bladder cancer. Pink has now changed to blue, lavender, and marigold (the official colors of bladder cancer awareness). It’s not a journey any of us wanted to buy a ticket for but it’s one that we will travel together.

I’m new to this side of the road, the side of being the supporter in a cancer diagnosis, and I didn’t start out doing a great job–evident on the day we found out dad had to have chemo and radiation. I was a mess and there my dad was soothing and reassuring me, telling me that he felt good and that everything was going to be okay. Words he has always said to me throughout my entire life. No matter what my worry was, he would always say it was going to be okay, that I was going to be okay. And those words from him always did make me feel okay.

And things are okay. His prognosis is a good one and the PET scan showed that thankfully the cancer did not spread. He is, however, going through a rigorous treatment of radiation and chemotherapy, so I’m going to ask for prayers. Prayers for his continued strength and optimistic outlook. Prayers for my mom who is by his side daily. Prayers that he’ll continue to be okay…

Because now it’s his turn to hear those words.

Dad, it’s going to be okay, you’re going to be okay.

And you’re loved so very much!

4 Responses to “Okay, We’re Changing Colors…”

  1. William Schmidt September 9, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    Cathy – So beautiful this Tribute to Dad – How do you find the words to express such insight and feelings of love….?  Thank you for making this morning a little better for us.  Mom

  2. Fawn September 9, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    Hi Cathy. Something told me to look at your blog today even though I haven’t since you signed off. Guess it was that sixth sense people talk about. I love the doll you made your Dad! Stay strong and hugs to you, Bob, Bobby, Fernie and your Dad.

  3. Shannon VanTassel September 9, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    So so sorry to hear this, Cathy. 😦   A big hug to you and your family and I’ll continue to send the happiest of thoughts your way. xoxo

    ________________________________

  4. Karen Mackie September 13, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Cathy and Family

    What a beautiful message – you’re Dad is very lucky to have such a caring daughter. I will keep him in my prayers. (I know exactly what you mean when you said hearing all is going to be OK from your parents always gave you that assurance that it would be OK – I always felt the same when I heard it from my parents :).

Leave a Reply

