Short and Sweet…!

14 Nov

November 14, 2012

Yep, it’s WONDERFUL news!  My dad is CANCER-FREE!!!

Just as I was texting my sister to see if she had heard anything, my phone rang. At 3:28 my world stood still… until I heard his voice. Even before he said it, I knew the news was good just by the tone of his voice.

And when we hung up, I let myself cry. The good kind of cry though. There’s nothing like a good happy cry!

And I let myself listen to the Christmas music station. (I know mom, it’s not Thanksgiving yet but it was just a song or maybe two!)

And now I’m drinking a glass of wine…

And homework? Who cares about homework…

And I’m really happy!

And yes dad….

IT TURNED OUT OKAY…!

With a little help from our friends of course…

I must say, we have quite a few angels up in heaven and here on earth who have been with us these past few months. Thank you for all your prayers and good thoughts. It means so much and we are forever grateful.

Dad, I hope you’re enjoying a good dinner and have a good night’s sleep.  You SO deserve it!

I love you so much!

12 Responses to “Short and Sweet…!”

  1. Sandy November 14, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Hurray for Mr. Schmidt!!!!! I’m so happy for you all! This is wonderful news.

  2. Nancy Reidy November 14, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    Hurray!!! I’m so happy for all of you. It reminds me of getting that call about my own dad’s remission. I also remember that relieved cry so well. Happy tears are THE BEST! Indulge yourself!!!

  3. Becky November 14, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    What fantastic news!!
    Those good crys are so very healing!!

  4. Fawn November 14, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    Wonderful news!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Noreen Hernandez November 14, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    This was the best way to begin the Holiday Season! Drink a glass of wine and turn on 93.9!

  6. Nancy November 14, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    That is wonderful news! I’m so happy your Dad is doing well. I remember him so well growing up he was always so kind. Enjoy and be happy!

  7. Heidi Moore November 15, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    Praising God…He is SO good!! May you enjoy these peaceful days ahead : )

    • Bridget November 15, 2012 at 8:47 am #

      AWESOME! Cathy I’m so happy to hear this! Much love and hugs to you and your family. So much to be thankful for as you celebrate the Thanksgiving holiday.

  8. Laura November 15, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    I am so, so happy for you and your family, Cathy! This is such wonderful news!!

  9. Margaret Kuretich November 15, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    Cathy:

    WONDERFUL news!!! You really have lots to be grateful for this Thanksgiving. Peace. Margaret

  10. cousin mary November 15, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Cathy,
    We were all so happy to hear the wonderful news. What love and strength your family showed again. I turned on a few holiday tunes on the way to work today in your honor.
    Joy to the World!
    Love, Mary

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A New Year and a New Direction… « WhimsyGab - January 13, 2013

    […] been 2 months since my last post about my dad’s fantastic news. We had a wonderful holiday season with so much to be happy and grateful for. Topping that list of […]

Leave a Reply

